Acclaimed Movers & Storage company logo

Acclaimed Movers & Storage

5/5

Membership(s) & License

LICENSE INFO:

US DOT #1771880

Acclaimed Movers & Storage authority

Toll Free

(888) 668-3703

Phone

(888) 668-3703

Website

www.acclaimedmovers.com

Our Office

21622 Plummer St

Acclaimed Movers & Storage 21622 Plummer St

Moving is often considered the most stressful event a person will encounter during their lives, and that’s why it’s important to have a local moving company you can trust for your next relocation. Acclaimed Local Movers has spent over a decade building the trust of the nation, developing into the premier, local, residential and commercial moving company. A fully comprehensive, full-service, luxury moving company, Acclaimed has the ability to move businesses of any size. We’ve comprised a team of the nation’s best local movers, individuals who care about you and your move, and supplied them with the industry’s finest materials to provide you with an unparalleled local moving experience. As a testament to our continued success, the Better Business Bureau has awarded us it’s coveted “A” rating. If the time is right for you to make a local move, then it’s time to call Acclaimed Local Movers.

COPY AND PASTE THE CODE BELOW INTO YOUR BLOG OR WEBSITE (Click to copy)

<a href="https://www.movingauthority.com/best-movers/California/Chatsworth/acclaimed-movers-and-storage-reviews/"><img width="150" height="133" src="https://www.movingauthority.com/static/new_design/images/badge-1.webp" alt="Acclaimed Movers & Storage" /></a>
Code copied!

People also viewed

See all >>

Customers Reviews

5.0

25 Reviews

+ Write A Review
Abigail Conner

Abigail Conner

07/21/2015

Easy people to work with no confusion. Wrapped furniture like it was a par-sole or Christmas gift. Really good movers.

Easy people to work with no confusion. Wrapped furniture like it was a par-sole or Christmas gift. Really good movers.

Christina Trovell

Christina Trovell

11/03/2015

Amazing company, so glad I chose them for my long distance move.

Amazing company, so glad I chose them for my long distance move.

Adam Robles-Sanchez

Adam Robles-Sanchez

11/22/2016

I used Acclaimed Movers and Storage for my move from Long Beach, CA to Palmdale, CA and I can safely say it was the best experience I have ever had while moving. From the time I called to get an estimate I knew that the staff would treat me unlike any other company I called before. The estimate was fair, and I was promised a precise time of arrival the day of the move, to which I was ...

I used Acclaimed Movers and Storage for my move from Long Beach, CA to Palmdale, CA and I can safely say it was the best experience I have ever had while moving. From the time I called to get an estimate I knew that the staff would treat me unlike any other company I called before. The estimate was fair, and I was promised a precise time of arrival the day of the move, to which I was not disappointed. Once the men arrived, they began packing my things in to the truck promptly. The delivery was almost too fast; they got to my new home before I did, granted i did stop for a bite to eat on the way. The payment process was simple, considering I paid by credit card. I highly recommend these services to anyone who needs a high-quality mover.

Jared Matrin

Jared Matrin

12/04/2016

This is a great moving company with professional staff. Everybody at this company knows what they are doing, and the price is just right for the services they provide. Don't even get me started on their superb packing skills. I could go on all day about how happy I was with everything. Great company with great staff and great prices! I highly recommend them.

This is a great moving company with professional staff. Everybody at this company knows what they are doing, and the price is just right for the services they provide. Don't even get me started on their superb packing skills. I could go on all day about how happy I was with everything. Great company with great staff and great prices! I highly recommend them.

Mike Goodman

Mike Goodman

12/04/2016

Great company for all things moving. I was very satisfied with the fast, friendly service of the mover as well as how much they did for me in such a small amount of time. The employees have their head in the game and are truly concerned about the well being of their customers and the outcome of the move. Can't wait to be able to use them again in the future. This is the first move I d...

Great company for all things moving. I was very satisfied with the fast, friendly service of the mover as well as how much they did for me in such a small amount of time. The employees have their head in the game and are truly concerned about the well being of their customers and the outcome of the move. Can't wait to be able to use them again in the future. This is the first move I did that actually felt fun and stress free thanks to Acclaimed Movers.

Mike Goodman

Mike Goodman

12/04/2016

Great company for all things moving. I was very satisfied with the fast, friendly service of the mover as well as how much they did for me in such a small amount of time. The employees have their head in the game and are truly concerned about the well being of their customers and the outcome of the move. Can't wait to be able to use them again in the future. This is the first move I d...

Great company for all things moving. I was very satisfied with the fast, friendly service of the mover as well as how much they did for me in such a small amount of time. The employees have their head in the game and are truly concerned about the well being of their customers and the outcome of the move. Can't wait to be able to use them again in the future. This is the first move I did that actually felt fun and stress free thanks to Acclaimed Movers.

Marty Sulligan

Marty Sulligan

12/18/2016

Great movers. Got two men and a truck and the guys got there right on time. No hassle and get prices. I am loving Acclaimed Movers!

Great movers. Got two men and a truck and the guys got there right on time. No hassle and get prices. I am loving Acclaimed Movers!

Trish

Trish

04/13/2016

Remarkable!! Moved our 5 bedroom house in a day. Took such great care of us. Ty acclaimed!!

Remarkable!! Moved our 5 bedroom house in a day. Took such great care of us. Ty acclaimed!!

Anna McCleon

Anna McCleon

04/13/2016

Tina & the crew she sent were fabulous. From beginning to end the crew worked impeccably. Tima was so informative and patient, she knows what she's doing. She gave me recommendations on how to pack and label boxes with different colored take to make it go by quicker. So happy with Adrian & Edgar.

Tina & the crew she sent were fabulous. From beginning to end the crew worked impeccably. Tima was so informative and patient, she knows what she's doing. She gave me recommendations on how to pack and label boxes with different colored take to make it go by quicker. So happy with Adrian & Edgar.

Alex Pinkerton

Alex Pinkerton

02/17/2015

Hiring Acclaimed Movers & Storage was the best decision ever!! They made my move quick easy and effortless. They were kind courteous and quick. I would never move myself again after using two men and a truck. Thank you Acclaimed Movers & Storage for making my move enjoyable!!!

Hiring Acclaimed Movers & Storage was the best decision ever!! They made my move quick easy and effortless. They were kind courteous and quick. I would never move myself again after using two men and a truck. Thank you Acclaimed Movers & Storage for making my move enjoyable!!!

Jimmy Ucubian

Jimmy Ucubian

09/26/2015

Quick 4 hour move to day, just needed to more some tables from Malibu to Calabasas. I like this company so writing this on mu phone while they unloading. Hope this will help Adrian keep working.

Quick 4 hour move to day, just needed to more some tables from Malibu to Calabasas. I like this company so writing this on mu phone while they unloading. Hope this will help Adrian keep working.

Josh Peterson

Josh Peterson

10/30/2014

We moved from Delaware to Virginia with them in 11 days. It was all done according to a plan, good organized working and fast delivery. My husband and I paid a reasonable price for this service and are very content with the outcome.

We moved from Delaware to Virginia with them in 11 days. It was all done according to a plan, good organized working and fast delivery. My husband and I paid a reasonable price for this service and are very content with the outcome.

Irene Conner

Irene Conner

10/14/2014

We needed to get moved quickly and called Acclaimed Movers & Storage who was on Angie's List. Not only were they able to move us on such short notice (3 days notice) they did an excellent job. The moving crew was professional and efficient. They worked really hard and did an excellent job moving our belongings with care. I would highly recommend using Acclaimed Movers & Storage, defin...

We needed to get moved quickly and called Acclaimed Movers & Storage who was on Angie's List. Not only were they able to move us on such short notice (3 days notice) they did an excellent job. The moving crew was professional and efficient. They worked really hard and did an excellent job moving our belongings with care. I would highly recommend using Acclaimed Movers & Storage, definitely worth every penny. If we ever need a moving company again they are the only company I will call.

Narita

Narita

08/20/2015

Adrian was our driver and they did a wonderful job. We moved to colorado from California. They wrapped our furniture wonderfully and nothing was damaged and the men were very nice to my children on moving day. If i need to move again I will defiantly use acclaimed movers again.

Adrian was our driver and they did a wonderful job. We moved to colorado from California. They wrapped our furniture wonderfully and nothing was damaged and the men were very nice to my children on moving day. If i need to move again I will defiantly use acclaimed movers again.

Peter Cohen

Peter Cohen

11/08/2016

The men can yesterday and worked hard and efficiently. very respectful and string men.

The men can yesterday and worked hard and efficiently. very respectful and string men.

Dean Cohen

Dean Cohen

11/22/2016

Acclaimed movers and storage was a great company for my move. I found that the men were perfectly capable of dealing with all of the requests that I had. During the move, they men treated me and my kids with respect, and I really appreciate that. They got things done quickly, and the foreman of the move knew what he was doing and handled business very well. A great experience overall ...

Acclaimed movers and storage was a great company for my move. I found that the men were perfectly capable of dealing with all of the requests that I had. During the move, they men treated me and my kids with respect, and I really appreciate that. They got things done quickly, and the foreman of the move knew what he was doing and handled business very well. A great experience overall and highly recommend.

Sandy Borinson

Sandy Borinson

12/04/2016

These movers were great. They stopped at nothing to make sure I was satisfied with my move, and let me tell you I was. All of the staff here were beyond nice and helpful. It didn't seem to upset them that I had an endless amount of questions for them. Not to mention the prices were highly competitive. I could just go on and on about how nice it is to work with such a professional movi...

These movers were great. They stopped at nothing to make sure I was satisfied with my move, and let me tell you I was. All of the staff here were beyond nice and helpful. It didn't seem to upset them that I had an endless amount of questions for them. Not to mention the prices were highly competitive. I could just go on and on about how nice it is to work with such a professional moving service. I recommend using these guys if you need a good and cheap mover.

Cynthia Adams

Cynthia Adams

08/09/2017

I had an excellent moving experience with Acclaimed Movers. Across every touch point, from sales to customer service to the actual movers on the day of move-out and the day of move-in the experience was top-notch. Acclaimed Movers is professional, responsive and delivered my belongings without any damage. I would enthusiastically recommend them to anyone who needs to do a cross-countr...

I had an excellent moving experience with Acclaimed Movers. Across every touch point, from sales to customer service to the actual movers on the day of move-out and the day of move-in the experience was top-notch. Acclaimed Movers is professional, responsive and delivered my belongings without any damage. I would enthusiastically recommend them to anyone who needs to do a cross-country move.

Nellie Heaton

Nellie Heaton

07/27/2017

I never thought that I would refer to moving as an enjoyable experience, but I never moved with Acclaimed Movers and Storage before, either. I gave their hotline a call and spoke with a very knowledgeable consultant about moving, and within minutes I had a moving date, a moving company, a price point, and the beginnings of a plan. A few weeks later, a team of pleasant movers show up t...

I never thought that I would refer to moving as an enjoyable experience, but I never moved with Acclaimed Movers and Storage before, either. I gave their hotline a call and spoke with a very knowledgeable consultant about moving, and within minutes I had a moving date, a moving company, a price point, and the beginnings of a plan. A few weeks later, a team of pleasant movers show up to my door right on time and with lots of energy. They did it all: packed, wrapped, hauled, and transferred. When all my things were in my new place, all I had to do was take my stuff out of the boxes. This move was truly a stress-free experience.

Janice Cook

Janice Cook

07/28/2017

It was a stress-free experience with Acclaimed Movers & Storage. They came on exact time, and their men worked non-stop. They took good care of my household stuff and fragile items. Packing was done very well. Overall moving was done smoothly. I highly recommend their services and would surely use them again.

It was a stress-free experience with Acclaimed Movers & Storage. They came on exact time, and their men worked non-stop. They took good care of my household stuff and fragile items. Packing was done very well. Overall moving was done smoothly. I highly recommend their services and would surely use them again.

Patricia Williams

Patricia Williams

07/31/2017

This moving company help you from start to finish. They gave me a great quote. Everything went well. I thank the sales representative for helping me out to get this move on the go. Thank you guys for all the support and for helping me. It was honestly genuine and sincere for you guys helping me out because I was in a tough situation trying to look for a great move. I just want to than...

This moving company help you from start to finish. They gave me a great quote. Everything went well. I thank the sales representative for helping me out to get this move on the go. Thank you guys for all the support and for helping me. It was honestly genuine and sincere for you guys helping me out because I was in a tough situation trying to look for a great move. I just want to thank you guys once again. I will recommend all family members and friends to this moving company. Thank you.

Sharky Smith

Sharky Smith

08/03/2017

Great team! Fast and organized. They showed up on time. The contract was thoroughly explained to us before they got started with the move. All the guys worked, I mean worked nonstop. They all were very nice. They carefully moved fragile items. They wrapped all furniture that needed to be wrapped. Keep up the good work!

Great team! Fast and organized. They showed up on time. The contract was thoroughly explained to us before they got started with the move. All the guys worked, I mean worked nonstop. They all were very nice. They carefully moved fragile items. They wrapped all furniture that needed to be wrapped. Keep up the good work!

Sandra Winslow

Sandra Winslow

08/11/2017

Acclaimed Movers & Storage are awesome. They come highly recommended! They showed up on time, took great care of our belongings and charged a fair rate. They helped complete a very complex move. They picked up items from 3 different locations and moved it all to one central location then unloaded. They even helped assemble furniture at no extra cost. Would use them again no questions ...

Acclaimed Movers & Storage are awesome. They come highly recommended! They showed up on time, took great care of our belongings and charged a fair rate. They helped complete a very complex move. They picked up items from 3 different locations and moved it all to one central location then unloaded. They even helped assemble furniture at no extra cost. Would use them again no questions asked!

Michael

Michael

05/17/2018

The only thing worse than using this company would be to use them twice. Price I was held up for was almost 3times what I was quoted. My options: pay cash or they take my belongings to their storage facility. Now I know why they insist on cash. Promised a morning move, showed up at6:00 PM, that's 18:00! And because of their tardiness I had to pay additional drive time and had to...

The only thing worse than using this company would be to use them twice. Price I was held up for was almost 3times what I was quoted. My options: pay cash or they take my belongings to their storage facility. Now I know why they insist on cash. Promised a morning move, showed up at6:00 PM, that's 18:00! And because of their tardiness I had to pay additional drive time and had to pay a penalty to get out of my storage area since it was past 9:00 by the time they had the truck unloaded. Absolutely a horrible experience and I would discourage even talking to these people. First time I tried to leave this review Google wouldn't accept it because they had too many negatives and the site was under investigation.

Michael

Michael

05/17/2018

The only thing worse than using this company would be to use them twice. Price I was held up for was almost 3times what I was quoted. My options: pay cash or they take my belongings to their storage facility. Now I know why they insist on cash. Promised a morning move, showed up at6:00 PM, that's 18:00! And because of their tardiness I had to pay additional drive time and had to...

The only thing worse than using this company would be to use them twice. Price I was held up for was almost 3times what I was quoted. My options: pay cash or they take my belongings to their storage facility. Now I know why they insist on cash. Promised a morning move, showed up at6:00 PM, that's 18:00! And because of their tardiness I had to pay additional drive time and had to pay a penalty to get out of my storage area since it was past 9:00 by the time they had the truck unloaded. Absolutely a horrible experience and I would discourage even talking to these people. First time I tried to leave this review Google wouldn't accept it because they had too many negatives and the site was under investigation.

/

Add your comment


did you know

Did you know?

The decade of the 70s saw the heyday of truck driving, and the dramatic rise in the popularity of "trucker culture". Truck drivers were romanticized as modern-day cowboys and outlaws (and this stereotype persists even today). This was due in part to their use of citizens' band (CB) radio to relay information to each other regarding the locations of police officers and transportation authorities. Plaid shirts, trucker hats, CB radios, and using CB slang were popular not just with drivers but among the general public.

In the 20th century, the 1940 film "They Drive by Night" co-starred Humphrey Bogart. He plays an independent driver struggling to become financially stable and economically independent. This is all set during the times of the Great Depression. Yet another film was released in 1941, called "The Gang's All Here". It is a story of a trucking company that's been targeted by saboteurs.

Public transportation is vital to a large part of society and is in dire need of work and attention. In 2010, the DOT awarded $742.5 million in funds from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act to 11 transit projects. The awardees specifically focused light rail projects. One includes both a commuter rail extension and a subway project in New York City. The public transportation New York City has to offer is in need of some TLC. Another is working on a rapid bus transit system in Springfield, Oregon. The funds also subsidize a heavy rail project in northern Virginia. This finally completes the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority's Metro Silver Line, connecting to Washington, D.C., and the Washington Dulles International Airport. This is important because the DOT has previously agreed to subsidize the Silver Line construction to Reston, Virginia.

The FMCSA has established rules to maintain and regulate the safety of the trucking industry. According to FMCSA rules, driving a goods-carrying CMV more than 11 hours or to drive after having been on duty for 14 hours, is illegal. Due to such heavy driving, they need a break to complete other tasks such as loading and unloading cargo, stopping for gas and other required vehicle inspections, as well as non-working duties such as meal and rest breaks. The 3-hour difference between the 11-hour driving limit and 14 hour on-duty limit gives drivers time to take care of such duties. In addition, after completing an 11 to 14 hour on duty period, the driver much be allowed 10 hours off-duty.

In 1991 the film "Thelma &amp; Louise" premiered, rapidly becoming a well known movie. Throughout the movie, a dirty and abrasive truck driver harasses the two women during chance encounters. Author Michael Dunne describes this minor character as "fat and ignorant" and "a lustful fool blinded by a delusion of male superiority". Thelma and Louise exact their revenge by feigning interest in him and then blowing up his tanker truck full of gas.

The most basic purpose of a trailer jack is to lift the trailer to a height that allows the trailer to hitch or unhitch to and from the towing vehicle. Trailer jacks may also be used for the leveling of the trailer during storage. To list a few common types of trailer jacks are A-frame jacks, swivel jacks, and drop-leg jacks. Other trailers, such as horse trailers, have a built-in jack at the tongue for this purpose.

In 1895 Karl Benz designed and built the first truck in history by using the internal combustion engine. Later that year some of Benz's trucks gave into modernization and went on to become the first bus by the Netphener. This would be the first motor bus company in history. Hardly a year later, in 1986, another internal combustion engine truck was built by a man named Gottlieb Daimler. As people began to catch on, other companies, such as Peugeot, Renault, and Bussing, also built their own versions. In 1899, the first truck in the United States was built by Autocar and was available with two optional horsepower motors, 5 or 8.

The trucking industry has made a large historical impact since the early 20th century. It has affected the U.S. both politically as well as economically since the notion has begun. Previous to the invention of automobiles, most freight was moved by train or horse-drawn carriage. Trucks were first exclusively used by the military during World War I. &nbsp; After the war, construction of paved roads increased. As a result, trucking began to achieve significant popularity by the 1930's. Soon after trucking became subject to various government regulation, such as the hours of service. During the later 1950's and 1960's, trucking accelerated due to the construction of the Interstate Highway System. The Interstate Highway System is an extensive network of freeways linking major cities cross country.

A moving company, removalist, or van line are all companies that help people as well as other businesses to move their good from one place to another. With many inclusive services for relocation like packing, loading, moving, unloading, unpacking and arranging of items can all be taken care of for you. Some services may include cleaning the place and have warehousing facilities.

Another film released in 1975, White Line Fever, also involved truck drivers. It tells the story of a Vietnam War veteran who returns home to take over his father's trucking business. But, he soon finds that corrupt shippers are trying to force him to carry illegal contraband. While endorsing another negative connotation towards the trucking industry, it does portray truck drivers with a certain wanderlust.

Very light trucks. Popular in Europe and Asia, many mini-trucks are factory redesigns of light automobiles, usually with monocoque bodies. Specialized designs with substantial frames such as the Italian Piaggio shown here are based upon Japanese designs (in this case by Daihatsu) and are popular for use in "old town" sections of European cities that often have very narrow alleyways. Regardless of the name, these small trucks serve a wide range of uses. In Japan, they are regulated under the Kei car laws, which allow vehicle owners a break on taxes for buying a smaller and less-powerful vehicle (currently, the engine is limited to 660 ccs {0.66L} displacement). These vehicles are used as on-road utility vehicles in Japan. These Japanese-made mini trucks that were manufactured for on-road use are competing with off-road ATVs in the United States, and import regulations require that these mini trucks have a 25 mph (40 km/h) speed governor as they are classified as low-speed vehicles. These vehicles have found uses in construction, large campuses (government, university, and industrial), agriculture, cattle ranches, amusement parks, and replacements for golf carts.Major mini truck manufacturers and their brands: Daihatsu Hijet, Honda Acty, Mazda Scrum, Mitsubishi Minicab, Subaru Sambar, Suzuki Carry &nbsp; As with many things in Europe and Asia, the illusion of delicacy and proper manners always seems to attract tourists. Popular in Europe and Asia, mini trucks are factory redesigns of light automobiles with monochrome bodies. Such specialized designs with such great frames such as the Italian Piaggio, based upon Japanese designs. In this case it was based upon Japanese designs made by Daihatsu. These are very popular for use in "old town" sections of European cities, which often have very narrow alleyways. Despite whatever name they are called, these very light trucks serve a wide variety of purposes. &nbsp; Yet, in Japan they are regulated under the Kei car laws, which allow vehicle owners a break in taxes for buying a small and less-powerful vehicle. Currently, the engine is limited to 660 cc [0.66L] displacement. These vehicles began being used as on-road utility vehicles in Japan. Classified as a low speed vehicle, these Japanese-made mini trucks were manufactured for on-road use for competing the the off-road ATVs in the United States. Import regulations require that the mini trucks have a 25 mph (40km/h) speed governor. Again, this is because they are low speed vehicles. &nbsp; However, these vehicles have found numerous amounts of ways to help the community. They invest money into the government, universities, amusement parks, and replacements for golf cars. They have some major Japanese mini truck manufacturarers as well as brands such as: Daihatsu Hijet, Honda Acty, Mazda Scrum, Mitsubishit Minicab, Subaru Sambar, and Suzuki Carry.

In 1971, author and director Steven Spielberg, debuted his first feature length film. His made-for-tv film, Duel, portrayed a truck driver as an anonymous stalker. Apparently there seems to be a trend in the 70's to negatively stigmatize truck drivers.

Trucks and cars have much in common mechanically as well as ancestrally. One link between them is the steam-powered fardier Nicolas-Joseph Cugnot, who built it in 1769. Unfortunately for him, steam trucks were not really common until the mid 1800's. While looking at this practically, it would be much harder to have a steam truck. This is mostly due to the fact that the roads of the time were built for horse and carriages. Steam trucks were left to very short hauls, usually from a factory to the nearest railway station. In 1881, the first semi-trailer appeared, and it was in fact towed by a steam tractor manufactured by De Dion-Bouton. Steam-powered trucks were sold in France and in the United States, apparently until the eve of World War I. Also, at the beginning of World War II in the United Kingdom, they were known as 'steam wagons'.

Medium trucks are larger than light but smaller than heavy trucks. In the US, they are defined as weighing between 13,000 and 33,000 pounds (6,000 and 15,000 kg). For the UK and the EU, the weight is between 3.5 and 7.5 tons (3.9 and 8.3 tons). Local delivery and public service (dump trucks, garbage trucks, and fire-fighting trucks) are around this size.

The American Trucking Associations initiated in 1985 with the intent to improve the industry's image. With public opinion declining the association tried numerous moves. One such move was changing the name of the "National Truck Rodeo" to the "National Driving Championship". This was due to the fact that the word rodeo seemed to imply recklessness and reckless driving.

In the United States, the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986 established minimum requirements that must be met when a state issues a commercial driver's license CDL. It specifies the following types of license: - Class A CDL drivers. Drive vehicles weighing 26,001 pounds or greater, or any combination of vehicles weighing 26,001 pounds or greater when towing a trailer weighing more than 10,000 pounds. Transports quantities of hazardous materials that require warning placards under Department of Public Safety regulations. - Class A Driver License permits. Is a step in preparation for Class A drivers to become a Commercial Driver. - Class B CDL driver. Class B is designed to transport 16 or more passengers (including driver) or more than 8 passengers (including the driver) for compensation. This includes, but is not limited to, tow trucks, tractor trailers, and buses.

Public transportation is vital to a large part of society and is in dire need of work and attention. In 2010, the DOT awarded $742.5 million in funds from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act to 11 transit projects. The awardees specifically focused light rail projects. One includes both a commuter rail extension and a subway project in New York City. The public transportation New York City has to offer is in need of some TLC. Another is working on a rapid bus transit system in Springfield, Oregon. The funds also subsidize a heavy rail project in northern Virginia. This finally completes the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority's Metro Silver Line, connecting to Washington, D.C., and the Washington Dulles International Airport. This is important because the DOT has previously agreed to subsidize the Silver Line construction to Reston, Virginia.

The United States Department of Transportation has become a fundamental necessity in the moving industry. It is the pinnacle of the industry, creating and enforcing regulations for the sake of safety for both businesses and consumers alike. However, it is notable to appreciate the history of such a powerful department. The functions currently performed by the DOT were once enforced by the Secretary of Commerce for Transportation. In 1965, Najeeb Halaby, administrator of the Federal Aviation Adminstration (FAA), had an excellent suggestion. He spoke to the current President Lyndon B. Johnson, advising that transportation be elevated to a cabinet level position. He continued, suggesting that the FAA be folded or merged, if you will, into the DOT. Clearly, the President took to Halaby's fresh ideas regarding transportation, thus putting the DOT into place.

Full truckload carriers normally deliver a semi-trailer to a shipper who will fill the trailer with freight for one destination. Once the trailer is filled, the driver returns to the shipper to collect the required paperwork. Upon receiving the paperwork the driver will then leave with the trailer containing freight. Next, the driver will proceed to the consignee and deliver the freight him or herself. At times, a driver will transfer the trailer to another driver who will drive the freight the rest of the way.&nbsp;Full Truckload service (FTL) transit times are generally restricted by the driver's availability. This is according to Hours of Service regulations and distance. It is typically accepted that Full Truckload carriers will transport freight at an average rate of 47 miles per hour. This includes traffic jams, queues at intersections, other factors that influence transit time. &nbsp;

Advocation for better transportation began historically in the late 1870s of the United States. This is when the Good Roads Movement first occurred, lasting all the way throughout the 1920s. Bicyclist leaders advocated for improved roads. Their acts led to the turning of local agitation into the national political movement it became.

Released in 1998, the film Black Dog featured Patrick Swayze as a truck driver who made it out of prison. However, his life of crime continued, as he was manipulated into the transportation of illegal guns. Writer Scott Doviak has described the movie as a "high-octane riff on White Line Fever" as well as "a throwback to the trucker movies of the 70s".

The industry intends to both consumers as well as moving companies, this is why there are Ministers of Transportation in the industry. They are there to set and maintain laws and regulations in place to create a safer environment. It offers its members professional service training and states the time that movers have been in existence. It also provides them with federal government representation and statistical industry reporting. Additionally, there are arbitration services for lost or damaged claims, publications, public relations, and annual tariff updates and awards. This site includes articles as well that give some direction, a quarterly data summary, and industry trends.

There are various versions of a moving scam, but it basically begins with a prospective client. Then the client starts to contact a moving company to request a cost estimate. In today's market, unfortunately, this often happens online or via phone calls. So essentially a customer is contacting them for a quote when the moving company may not have a license. These moving sales people are salesman prone to quoting sometimes low. Even though usually reasonable prices with no room for the movers to provide a quality service if it is a broker.

Light trucks are classified this way because they are car-sized, yet in the U.S. they can be no more than 6,300 kg (13,900 lb). These are used by not only used by individuals but also businesses as well. In the UK they may not weigh more than 3,500 kg (7,700 lb) and are authorized to drive with a driving license for cars. Pickup trucks, popular in North America, are most seen in North America and some regions of Latin America, Asia, and Africa. Although Europe doesn't seem to follow this trend, where the size of the commercial vehicle is most often made as vans.

There many reasons for moving, each one with a unique and specific reason as to why. Relocation services, employee relocation, or workforce mobility can create a range of processes. This process of transferring employees, their families, and/or entire departments of a business to a new location can be difficult. Like some types of employee benefits, these matters are dealt with by human resources specialists within a corporation.