M A P Moving & Storage company logo

M A P Moving & Storage

1/5

Membership(s) & License

Toll Free

not available

Phone

(954) 504-1245

Our Office

1365 Silk Oak Dr

M A P Moving & Storage 1365 Silk Oak Dr

COPY AND PASTE THE CODE BELOW INTO YOUR BLOG OR WEBSITE (Click to copy)

<a href="https://www.movingauthority.com/best-movers/Florida/Hollywood/m-a-p-moving-storage-inc-reviews/"><img width="150" height="133" src="https://www.movingauthority.com/static/new_design/images/badge-1.webp" alt="M A P Moving & Storage" /></a>
Code copied!

People also viewed

See all >>

Customers Reviews

1.0

8 Reviews

+ Write A Review
LaVetta Brown

LaVetta Brown

06/12/2021

If I could rate negative stars I would. Used this company for a California to South Carolina move. When I needed my items it took nearly a month to receive them. Once I recieved my shipment. Multiple large items were missing. These were items like a lazy boy, large table, king size mattress and a few other smaller items. On Sept 14th I called to report the missing items. I was told wh...

If I could rate negative stars I would. Used this company for a California to South Carolina move. When I needed my items it took nearly a month to receive them. Once I recieved my shipment. Multiple large items were missing. These were items like a lazy boy, large table, king size mattress and a few other smaller items. On Sept 14th I called to report the missing items. I was told when a shipment came my way they would deliver them items they held hostage. It took me having to get a lawyer involved. It was a miracle worker because within a week I had my items delivered on December 22nd. Every single item was delivered damage beyond repair. There were about 10000 work of damages and I received a ridiculous check for less than $200. DO NOT EVER EVER EVER USE MAP MOVING AND STORAGE THEY ARE CROOKS AND SHOULD BE SHUT DOWN!

Adam Levy

Adam Levy

03/22/2021

Awful. DO NOT USE. Make sure if you go through a broker, like I mistakenly did, that the broker does not use them. I used Landmark Moving as a broker and they were also awful. MAP lost 3 items in my move: a Tumi suitcase, a mini fridge, and a side table. They also broker the footing of a lamp so it will not stand. The settlement award from their moving claim specialist was $64.80. The...

Awful. DO NOT USE. Make sure if you go through a broker, like I mistakenly did, that the broker does not use them. I used Landmark Moving as a broker and they were also awful. MAP lost 3 items in my move: a Tumi suitcase, a mini fridge, and a side table. They also broker the footing of a lamp so it will not stand. The settlement award from their moving claim specialist was $64.80. They then told me in the fine print I signed I had to accept it. They lost and damaged my items, in addition to it arriving a week later than it was promised to me by the broker. Annoying to have to track my moving items which were late, then find out some were missing and damaged, and then I had to file the claim and spend more time on things that were not my fault. There is a reason for so many poor reviews! DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY AND MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE I DID!

Rick

Rick

05/17/2021

DO NOT USE THEM! WORSE COMPANY EVER!! I'm so mad i didn't read the reviews on them. I will turn them in to the Better Business Bureau. Avoid using them. Kept giving me dates for our delivery and took over 3 week and over a dozen phone calls. They sub out to another company and wouldn't pay them so they held our items. It has been a nightmare to deal with them. We are missing item and ...

DO NOT USE THEM! WORSE COMPANY EVER!! I'm so mad i didn't read the reviews on them. I will turn them in to the Better Business Bureau. Avoid using them. Kept giving me dates for our delivery and took over 3 week and over a dozen phone calls. They sub out to another company and wouldn't pay them so they held our items. It has been a nightmare to deal with them. We are missing item and had few arrive broken now i have to go through the claims process.. UGH avoid them at all cost or it will cost you.

mike cruz

mike cruz

07/20/2017

my client contracted M A P moving to move a brokered load for them after being provided active insurance. during the move M A P moving's trailer caught on fire and all of the loads were destroyed. apparently he hadn't updated his vehicle list in some years and the vehicle listed on the insurance was not the one involved and the claim was denied. now the owner curses us off and refuses...

my client contracted M A P moving to move a brokered load for them after being provided active insurance. during the move M A P moving's trailer caught on fire and all of the loads were destroyed. apparently he hadn't updated his vehicle list in some years and the vehicle listed on the insurance was not the one involved and the claim was denied. now the owner curses us off and refuses to work with us to pay the claim amount. this carrier isn't properly maintaining his insurance and is not honorable enough to pay the damages he caused.

Ellie soheili

Ellie soheili

08/24/2018

Map moving company is the worst worst moving company ever. They are 12 people working together and rip people off . They lie from the moment you sign with them . Our stuff is still in storage after 24 days. Dont trust this heartless monesters. They are monester

Map moving company is the worst worst moving company ever. They are 12 people working together and rip people off . They lie from the moment you sign with them . Our stuff is still in storage after 24 days. Dont trust this heartless monesters. They are monester

Katharine fanizzi

Katharine fanizzi

04/06/2020

At no point yesterday during the move was I in any way scared or afraid of the homeowners. My ultimate goal was to do my part in unloading their belongings off the moving truck in a safe and timely manner as I've done with hundreds of previous moves. I saw that the belongings were not properly wrapped and was disgusted by the drivers attitude and lack of compassion towards his client.

At no point yesterday during the move was I in any way scared or afraid of the homeowners. My ultimate goal was to do my part in unloading their belongings off the moving truck in a safe and timely manner as I've done with hundreds of previous moves. I saw that the belongings were not properly wrapped and was disgusted by the drivers attitude and lack of compassion towards his client.

Theresa Insinga

Theresa Insinga

09/20/2020

Map Moving and storage showed up 5 hours late with a truck that was too small for all of our belongings. Has had our belongings since 8/22/2020 and keep making excuses regarding delivery of our belongings. Tomorrow will be 30 days since they picked up my stuff. They were supposed to deliver to us on 9/8/2020. They already took almost $7000 of our money. Now I will be getting the law...

Map Moving and storage showed up 5 hours late with a truck that was too small for all of our belongings. Has had our belongings since 8/22/2020 and keep making excuses regarding delivery of our belongings. Tomorrow will be 30 days since they picked up my stuff. They were supposed to deliver to us on 9/8/2020. They already took almost $7000 of our money. Now I will be getting the law involved because they stole all of my things. They should all be put in jail for grand theft!

Sharon Ruffner

Sharon Ruffner

11/06/2020

Poor....do not use this company! Got oil marks all over carpeting when delivering furniture. Said I signed a paper that their not responsible! I had four boxes of someone else's stuff! No immediate plans or further plan to pick it up for them. Just whenever they have a truck my way! No concern for missing items I have either. They don't know where it is or anything!!!

Poor....do not use this company! Got oil marks all over carpeting when delivering furniture. Said I signed a paper that their not responsible! I had four boxes of someone else's stuff! No immediate plans or further plan to pick it up for them. Just whenever they have a truck my way! No concern for missing items I have either. They don't know where it is or anything!!!

/

Add your comment


did you know

Did you know?

In 1999, The Simpsons episode Maximum Homerdrive aired. It featured Homer and Bart making a delivery for a truck driver named Red after he unexpectedly dies of 'food poisoning'.

In 1971, author and director Steven Spielberg, debuted his first feature length film. His made-for-tv film, Duel, portrayed a truck driver as an anonymous stalker. Apparently there seems to be a trend in the 70's to negatively stigmatize truck drivers.

In 1978 Sylvester Stallone starred in the film "F.I.S.T.". The story is loosely based on the 'Teamsters Union'. This union is a labor union which includes truck drivers as well as its then president, Jimmy Hoffa.

In the United States, commercial truck classification is fixed by each vehicle's gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR). There are 8 commercial truck classes, ranging between 1 and 8. Trucks are also classified in a more broad way by the DOT's Federal Highway Administration (FHWA). The FHWA groups them together, determining classes 1-3 as light duty, 4-6 as medium duty, and 7-8 as heavy duty. The United States Environmental Protection Agency has its own separate system of emission classifications for commercial trucks. Similarly, the United States Census Bureau had assigned classifications of its own in its now-discontinued Vehicle Inventory and Use Survey (TIUS, formerly known as the Truck Inventory and Use Survey).

There are various versions of a moving scam, but it basically begins with a prospective client. Then the client starts to contact a moving company to request a cost estimate. In today's market, unfortunately, this often happens online or via phone calls. So essentially a customer is contacting them for a quote when the moving company may not have a license. These moving sales people are salesman prone to quoting sometimes low. Even though usually reasonable prices with no room for the movers to provide a quality service if it is a broker.

There many reasons for moving, each one with a unique and specific reason as to why. Relocation services, employee relocation, or workforce mobility can create a range of processes. This process of transferring employees, their families, and/or entire departments of a business to a new location can be difficult. Like some types of employee benefits, these matters are dealt with by human resources specialists within a corporation.

In American English, the word "truck" has historically been preceded by a word describing the type of vehicle, such as a "tanker truck". In British English, preference would lie with "tanker" or "petrol tanker".

A trailer is not very difficult to categorize. In general, it is an unpowered vehicle towed by a powered vehicle. Trailers are most commonly used for the transport of goods and materials. Although some do enjoy recreational usage of trailers as well.&nbsp;

The public idea of the trucking industry in the United States popular culture has gone through many transformations. However, images of the masculine side of trucking are a common theme throughout time. The 1940's first made truckers popular, with their songs and movies about truck drivers. Then in the 1950's they were depicted as heroes of the road, living a life of freedom on the open road. Trucking culture peaked in the 1970's as they were glorified as modern days cowboys, outlaws, and rebels. Since then the portrayal has come with a more negative connotation as we see in the 1990's. Unfortunately, the depiction of truck drivers went from such a positive depiction to that of troubled serial killers.

Very light trucks. Popular in Europe and Asia, many mini-trucks are factory redesigns of light automobiles, usually with monocoque bodies. Specialized designs with substantial frames such as the Italian Piaggio shown here are based upon Japanese designs (in this case by Daihatsu) and are popular for use in "old town" sections of European cities that often have very narrow alleyways. Regardless of the name, these small trucks serve a wide range of uses. In Japan, they are regulated under the Kei car laws, which allow vehicle owners a break on taxes for buying a smaller and less-powerful vehicle (currently, the engine is limited to 660 ccs {0.66L} displacement). These vehicles are used as on-road utility vehicles in Japan. These Japanese-made mini trucks that were manufactured for on-road use are competing with off-road ATVs in the United States, and import regulations require that these mini trucks have a 25 mph (40 km/h) speed governor as they are classified as low-speed vehicles. These vehicles have found uses in construction, large campuses (government, university, and industrial), agriculture, cattle ranches, amusement parks, and replacements for golf carts.Major mini truck manufacturers and their brands: Daihatsu Hijet, Honda Acty, Mazda Scrum, Mitsubishi Minicab, Subaru Sambar, Suzuki Carry &nbsp; As with many things in Europe and Asia, the illusion of delicacy and proper manners always seems to attract tourists. Popular in Europe and Asia, mini trucks are factory redesigns of light automobiles with monochrome bodies. Such specialized designs with such great frames such as the Italian Piaggio, based upon Japanese designs. In this case it was based upon Japanese designs made by Daihatsu. These are very popular for use in "old town" sections of European cities, which often have very narrow alleyways. Despite whatever name they are called, these very light trucks serve a wide variety of purposes. &nbsp; Yet, in Japan they are regulated under the Kei car laws, which allow vehicle owners a break in taxes for buying a small and less-powerful vehicle. Currently, the engine is limited to 660 cc [0.66L] displacement. These vehicles began being used as on-road utility vehicles in Japan. Classified as a low speed vehicle, these Japanese-made mini trucks were manufactured for on-road use for competing the the off-road ATVs in the United States. Import regulations require that the mini trucks have a 25 mph (40km/h) speed governor. Again, this is because they are low speed vehicles. &nbsp; However, these vehicles have found numerous amounts of ways to help the community. They invest money into the government, universities, amusement parks, and replacements for golf cars. They have some major Japanese mini truck manufacturarers as well as brands such as: Daihatsu Hijet, Honda Acty, Mazda Scrum, Mitsubishit Minicab, Subaru Sambar, and Suzuki Carry.

The American Trucking Associations initiated in 1985 with the intent to improve the industry's image. With public opinion declining the association tried numerous moves. One such move was changing the name of the "National Truck Rodeo" to the "National Driving Championship". This was due to the fact that the word rodeo seemed to imply recklessness and reckless driving.

Popular among campers is the use of lightweight trailers, such as aerodynamic trailers. These can be towed by a small car, such as the BMW Air Camper. They are built with the intent to lower the tow of the vehicle, thus minimizing drag.

In 1938, the now-eliminated Interstate Commerce Commission (ICC) enforced the first Hours of Service (HOS) rules. Drivers became limited to 12 hours of work within a 15-hour period. At this time, work included loading, unloading, driving, handling freight, preparing reports, preparing vehicles for service, or performing any other duty in relation to the transportation of passengers or property. &nbsp; The ICC intended for the 3-hour difference between 12 hours of work and 15 hours on-duty to be used for meals and rest breaks. This meant that the weekly max was limited to 60 hours over 7 days (non-daily drivers), or 70 hours over 8 days (daily drivers). With these rules in place, it allowed 12 hours of work within a 15-hour period, 9 hours of rest, with 3 hours for breaks within a 24-hour day.

Truckload shipping is the movement of large amounts of cargo. In general, they move amounts necessary to fill an entire semi-trailer or inter-modal container. A truckload carrier is a trucking company that generally contracts an entire trailer-load to a single customer. This is quite the opposite of a Less than Truckload (LTL) freight services. Less than Truckload shipping services generally mix freight from several customers in each trailer. An advantage Full Truckload shipping carriers have over Less than Truckload carrier services is that the freight isn't handled during the trip. Yet, in an LTL shipment, goods will generally be transported on several different trailers.

In the moving industry, transportation logistics management is incredibly important. Essentially, it is the management that implements and controls efficiency, the flow of storage of goods, as well as services. This includes related information between the point of origin and the point of consumption to meet customer's specifications. Logistics is quite complex but can be modeled, analyzed, visualized, and optimized by simulation software. Generally, the goal of transportation logistics management is to reduce or cut the use of such resources. A professional working in the field of moving logistics management is called a logistician.

The word cargo is in reference to particular goods that are generally used for commercial gain. Cargo transportation is generally meant to mean by ship, boat, or plane. However, the term now applies to all types of freight, now including goods carried by train, van, or truck. This term is now used in the case of goods in the cold-chain, as perishable inventory is always cargo in transport towards its final home.&nbsp;Even when it is held in climate-controlled facilities, it is important to remember perishable goods or inventory have a short life.

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) is a division of the USDOT specializing in highway transportation. The agency's major influential activities are generally separated into two different "programs". The first is the Federal-aid Highway Program. This provides financial aid to support the construction, maintenance, and operation of the U.S. highway network. The second program, the Federal Lands Highway Program, shares a similar name with different intentions. The purpose of this program is to improve transportation involving Federal and Tribal lands. They also focus on preserving "national treasures" for the historic and beatific enjoyment for all.

A circumferential route refers to a public transportation system that follows the route in the shape of a circle. Over time a nickname developed in the European Union, calling transportation networks such as these a "ring road". This is no surprise as Europe has several famous "ring roads" such as the Berliner Ring, the Brussels Ring, the Amsterdam Ring, the Boulevard P&eacute;riph&eacute;rique around Paris and the Leeds Inner and Outer ring roads. Other countries adopted the term as well which in turn made the name go international. Australia's Melbourne's Western Ring Road and India's Hyderabad's Outer Ring Road both adopted the name. However in Canada, the term is most commonly used, with "orbital" used to a much lesser extent. &nbsp; On the contrary, the United States calls many "ring roads" as belt-lines, beltways, or loops instead. For example, the Capital Beltway around Washington, D.C. Some ring roads use terminology such as "Inner Loop" and "Outer Loop". This is, of course, for the sake of directional sense, since compass directions cannot be determined around the entire loop.

Released in 1998, the film Black Dog featured Patrick Swayze as a truck driver who made it out of prison. However, his life of crime continued, as he was manipulated into the transportation of illegal guns. Writer Scott Doviak has described the movie as a "high-octane riff on White Line Fever" as well as "a throwback to the trucker movies of the 70s".

The 1950's were quite different than the years to come. They were more likely to be considered "Knights of the Road", if you will, for helping stranded travelers. In these times truck drivers were envied and were viewed as an opposition to the book "The Organization Man". Bestseller in 1956, author William H. Whyte's novel describes "the man in the gray flannel suit", who sat in an office every day. He's describing a typical office style job that is very structured with managers watching over everyone. Truck drivers represented the opposite of all these concepts. Popular trucking songs glorified the life of drivers as independent "wanderers". Yet, there were attempts to bring back the factory style efficiency, such as using tachnographs. Although most attempts resulted in little success. Drivers routinely sabotaged and discovered new ways to falsify the machine's records.

In 1984 the animated TV series The Transformers told the story of a group of extraterrestrial humanoid robots. However, it just so happens that they disguise themselves as automobiles. Their leader of the Autobots clan, Optimus Prime, is depicted as an awesome semi-truck.

The 1980s were full of happening things, but in 1982 a Southern California truck driver gained short-lived fame. His name was Larry Walters, also known as "Lawn Chair Larry", for pulling a crazy stunt. He ascended to a height of 16,000 feet (4,900 m) by attaching helium balloons to a lawn chair, hence the name. Walters claims he only intended to remain floating near the ground and was shocked when his chair shot up at a rate of 1,000 feet (300 m) per minute. The inspiration for such a stunt Walters claims his poor eyesight for ruining his dreams to become an Air Force pilot.

The rise of technological development gave rise to the modern trucking industry. There a few factors supporting this spike in the industry such as the advent of the gas-powered internal combustion engine. Improvement in transmissions is yet another source, just like the move away from chain drives to gear drives. And of course the development of the tractor/semi-trailer combination. &nbsp; The first state weight limits for trucks were determined and put in place in 1913. Only four states limited truck weights, from a low of 18,000 pounds (8,200 kg) in Maine to a high of 28,000 pounds (13,000 kg) in Massachusetts. The intention of these laws was to protect the earth and gravel-surfaced roads. In this case, particular damages due to the iron and solid rubber wheels of early trucks. By 1914 there were almost 100,000 trucks on America's roads. As a result of solid tires, poor rural roads, and a maximum speed of 15 miles per hour (24km/h) continued to limit the use of these trucks to mostly urban areas.

Smoke and the Bandit was released in 1977, becoming the third-highest grossing movie. Following only behind Star Wars Episode IV and Close Encounter of the Third Kind, all three movies making an impact on popular culture. Conveniently, during that same year, CB Bears debuted as well. The Saturday morning cartoon features mystery-solving bears who communicate by CB radio. As the 1970's decade began to end and the 80's broke through, the trucking phenomenon had wade. With the rise of cellular phone technology, the CB radio was no longer popular with passenger vehicles, but, truck drivers still use it today.

There are various versions of a moving scam, but it basically begins with a prospective client. Then the client starts to contact a moving company to request a cost estimate. In today's market, unfortunately, this often happens online or via phone calls. So essentially a customer is contacting them for a quote when the moving company may not have a license. These moving sales people are salesman prone to quoting sometimes low. Even though usually reasonable prices with no room for the movers to provide a quality service if it is a broker.

Many people are familiar with this type of moving, using truck rental services, or borrowing similar hardware, is known as DIY moving. Whoever is renting a truck or trailer large enough to carry their household goods may obtain moving equipment if necessary. Equipment may be items such as dollies, furniture pads, and cargo belts to protect furniture and to ease the moving process.